My training programme – the alpha phase

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it yet on here, but if you didn’t know already, I’m going to be attempting to Jog my first 5k for race for life in July. This for me is possibly the biggest thing I’ve done in my LIFE. I weigh over 200lb, so jogging a 5k is not going to be a easy task.

However, for me I feel it is the right time. I have sort of hit a brick wall just relying on controlling what I eat and sporadic gym sessions and classes to lose the weight. I have another 70lbs to lose to get me within a “normal” BMI. I know there is no running away from it (excuse the pun) – learning to run and the training that goes into it feels like the natural next stage for me to take me to the next level of my weight loss journey.  I can’t wait to become a runner, I can’t wait to be one of those people you see at the park running looking so fit and so free. In my mind, I feel like I’m a “healthy fit person” but I certainly do not look it from the outside. Time to put words into action. I think I need to focus on something positive, like a charity run, to propel me forward.

 

My husband is a bit of a gym-geek, and has devised a programme for me to improve my strength first before I hit the streets running. I guess anyone can just walk out the door and start running, but it will be challenge if your muscles are weak (which mine are). I am in all senses of the word a gym beginner. I have phased in and out of working out in the gym, but I am far from confident when I’m there. So, what I’m going to be doing for the next 3weeks is doing a bit of strength resistance training. We have called it the “alpha phase” , and it goes a little something like this:

Warm up 5min cardio (cross trainer/treadmil/cycle/rowing)

Stretching 5mins (triceps, biceps, hamstrings, quadriceps and inner thighs)

Upper body workout (with the aid of a swiss ball) 3 sets of 10 reps at a good weight for me (?4kg)

– Chest press, seated shoulder press, seated lateral raise, push ups (from kneeling position), seated tricep dips, and if I’m feeling really pumped, dumbell squats

Lower Body workout (with the aid of machines) 3 sets of 10reps at a good weight for me

-Leg press machine, Leg extension and leg curls machine, adducter and abducter machine

Cardio interval training – 10minutes to gradually increase to 20minutes with cool down on machine (likely the first few weeks of the C25K running programme, so I don’t fall too far behind or panic – 10 weeks to the Run)

running, cycling,

 

I aim to do this routine – which should take 45minutes max. in total 3 times in a week (tuesdays, thursdays and saturdays) alongside my swimming aqua aerobics class on Sundays, and Zumba on Mondays. After 3 weeks I’m going to up the pace a bit and more cardio but focussing on my strength should give me a good base to start running properly!

 

Wish me good luck, I will keep you updated on my progress!

 

Leave a Reply

