(not) working out

Hi guys

Well after nearly a month of just doing zumba classes, I returned to the gym to do some core strength training. I was trying out a new routine I had created (using kettle bells instead of dumbbells) and it just didn’t work out. I was in a bad mood on my way to the gym, I was disappointed with my exam revision yesterday (statistics is sooo hard) and I just wasn’t feeling in the mood to go to the gym (even though i was looking forward to it on Friday)

 

I don’t know what happened, but it was the first time I had had a “bad” experience in the gym – nearly ended up crying wanting to go home after 20minutes!

Firstly the lightest Kettlebell available was 8kg! I was able to do some kettlebell swings and some “chops and lifts” with it (which was an achievement in itself) very therapeutic but I’m sure I made some inappropriate grunting noises throughout! Holding 2x8kg weights to do my other work out routines was just too much and I had to stop. i was dissapointed because I could not find any smaller kettle bells anywhere in the gym. 

I then tried to do some uphill fast paced walking on the treadmill, putting the gradient to 10% – but as soon as i did within a few seconds I got a *pang* in my right ankle, from when I tripped on the staircase at work eariler this week. It had hurt for a few hours at the time, but I was upset that the injury and come back. I also felt throughout my exercises (squats esp) that my knees felt unusually weak… I’m falling apart!

I wanted to go home but OH convinced me to just focus on my usual upper body work out that I know and enjoy with dumbells, so I chose a light set of 3kg and went with the flow. For some reason i just wasn’t in the zone at all, I couldn’t keep count of my reps or sets – and I kept thinking of the revision for my exams waiting for me when I got home! There was this skinny chick having an amazing workout next to me flirting with the fitness instructor too, and it put me right off my game.

I did however finish my workout on a little high, using for the first time the free crossrange motion machine thingy (I don’t know the name i will find out!) but basically is a 2 pulley system that you can change the angle of the pulley to give you numerous variations of workouts… it is “free” because it does not impact your joints in anyway so just a pure muscle workout. OH taught me various workouts with it which were really fun and I deffo will try it again.

I know the other branches of the gym have lighter kettle bells so I will try it out,  but I think I will probably just stick to a similar core routine with dumb bells and then encoorperate some kettle bell swings at the end or something. I know I am heavy but I haven’t had any weight bearing issues before, so I am wondering why now I’m starting to feel twinges and things – maybe i pushed myself too much after a months break of no core training at all?

I just felt like I didn’t know what I was doing (should I do core training/running/eliptical/???), and then ultimately a little embarrassed and under confident and unable to concentrate.

any tips on how to get the best out of your workout?

How do you know what is the best work out for you? (for me my goal is weightloss)

4 thoughts on “(not) working out

  1. Sonja Deschri says:

    so sorry to have read you had a disappointing workout. I probably don’t follow my own advice to the teeth (I doubt whether i would exercise as much as I do if it weren’t for the weightloss attached to it – I would certainly workout, but maybe not 6 out of 7 days) but I would advice not to focus on the weightloss aspect of it all, and just find something you love doing. That always pays off in the long run. Also, be kind to yourself if it has been a while you did a certain form of exercising, don’t be a superhero and take things easy. You will be back on the top of your game in two or three weeks. But then again, don’t be afraid to shake things up either. It takes the body by surprise, and it keeps things interesting for yourself as well.
    X

Leave a Reply

