Lent contemplations

DSC_0428

 

 

I saw this the other day on a little photographic tour of London, and it made me chuckle. Sometimes we can take our selves way too seriously (especially in the clean eating state of mind). I am a major pie fan, I must admit – so it really made me laugh!

Things are going well, I changed position at work which has been such a good thing for me and could not have come at a better time. I’m loving the fresh start at a new work place with new people and new commute to work that I could actually walk (only 2 tube stops away)

Lent starts on Ash Wednesday. I’m a christian and I’m seriously thinking about going Pescetarian as I do most years. I feel it might jump start my clean eating and encourage me to experiment more with vegetables, fish and grains, but i said the same last year and I ended up substituting with cheese instead – d’oh… Having said that I believe i’m in a different place now compared to last year, and if I want to eat more grains I believe I really will.

Regardless of the meat/no meat question I’m thinking of using it as an excuse for a clean cut cold turkey of chocolate. I’m sure I won’t be the only one and it will be a good way to break the habit that I seemed to have fallen into this year, even though I don’t really have a “sweet” tooth.

I’m also giving up social networking for 40 days… the reason being quite personal. I find that I can get quite engrossed in other peoples lives which is unhealthy, and I would rather use the Lent period to focus on my own personal and spiritual needs. I am at a real cross roads in my life with regards to my health/happiness/career – Β and I always seem to complain that “there isn’t enough time in the day” but really I probably spend more time online then I care to admit. i will still continue to check in with my weightwatchers blog and goodphat – but twitter/facebook/pininterest will be off limits.

But like I said before, let us not take life too seriously! i’m not doing these things because i have to, but because i want to – I feel it might be helpful in my personal walk to a healthy mind, soul and body.

Are you giving up anything for Lent? What are your thoughts about social networking? What do you do to achieve inner balance?

One thought on “Lent contemplations

  1. Laura Agar Wilson (@lauraagarwilson) says:

    I think this is a really interesting idea for lent, I can completely see why giving up social media would be a good idea for lots of people. I think I’d be tempted if so much of my business stuff wasn’t online based! I also love your attitude to it, doing it because you want to rather than because you have to, great stuff πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

