Clean living is not a chore, it is a gift! (my 1st birthday blog)

Hello everybody! well it certainly has been quite a while, unfortunately my macbook keyboard died a sudden death (also known as the infamous “tea-gate” incident) so I’m actually blogging from my hubbies laptop under secret mission but I had to because…. its my birthday ! yes ! GOODPHAT turned one today! 

cue Stevie Wonder Happy Birthday bounce!

I cannot believe a whole year has gone – Goodphat was born as an idea from my already established weightwatchers blog, and I just love the joy, creativity & freedom of expression it has given me through the ups and downs of my weight loss journey. Not to mention the *awesome* clean eating blogging community I’ve got to know online and in person!

So things have been good, certainly progressive! so many changes I don’t know where to start!

Well – I have been super busy with revising for post graduate exams and long work hours that for a short time my own health took a back seat. I had a mini “why bother” period for about a week after the reality of my car accident and back problems kicked in where I didn’t track, or frankly care about what was going into my body. I realised I was close to physical, mental and emotional burnout and just needed a bit of a break from it all.

Thankfully with some help and inspiration from friends, family (and the biggest loser USA) I was able to get back on track pretty quickly, and came to some clear truths in my own mind – that living clean and healthy is not a chore it is a gift! I realised that treating my body as a garbage bin just made me miserable, and I really didn’t enjoy the “freedom” of eating anything and everything insight. Making a conscious choice to choose to eat healthy was empowering and motivating, and I’m learning to take it one meal at a time, one day at a time.

Healthy choices are all around us if you look for it! I’m lucky that at work I have access to healthy food on the go – this is a whole food superfoods salad from M&S with a herb dressing and added chicken breast slices – it was delicious! No excuses neccessary!

I’ve been keeping a “tick list / to do list” everyday on my phone evernote to make sure I take my vitamins, drink my water, and reach my daily health goals – sounds a bit preschool but it helps me to have a visual reminder on my phone and I do get a buzz from ticking things off !  I’ve also been living on good coffee at the moment, but trying balance the caffiene overload with some green teas – this chai green tea from highliving is gorgeous (and i just love the little posh envelopes, makes it so easy to have on the go)

photo (2)

photo (3)

photo (9)

My main focus in the last few weeks is to get organised – nothing can substitute good preparation and planning when it comes to getting your health on track! I’ve been taking out a little time at the start and end of each day to get my gym bag ready, prep my food, drinks and snacks for the day ahead and I promise you the days I do this have without fail been awesome *in control* days. I’ve also been trying to meal plan and gym plan for the week ahead – and trying to keep accountable by taking pictures and uploading daily onto my instagram and twitter feeds which has been super helpful!

One of my favourite creations has been a salad dressing of balsamic vinegar, rapeseed oil and agave nectar! I put this into a tiny pate jar (or you could use those jam jars you get at hotels/B&Bs) which is just perfect for taking a perfection portion of dressing to work with no spillage in sight!

photo

I have upped my exercise regime recently too as I had reached a stale mate with my weight loss efforts, also because I enjoy it! I’m back on interval training for race for life 5K in June with the help of Mia “Chubby” Jones awesome podcasts! I just love how she is so real and chats to you through the work outs, reminding me that “you got this” I’m also doing strength training and going to Will Power and Grace and Zumba classes when I can.

I’ve also started going to hatha yoga once a week for a great cross training stretch session as well as mindful relaxation to de stress from my studying (its also an excuse to pose in my new zany sweaty betty leggings lol)

photo (1)

Finally how can I sign off without mentioning the most aweome Thursday night ever when I met up with the lovely health guru Laura from Keeping Healthy Getting Stylish! Our eyes met like star crossed lovers at the New MooYoo Frozen Yoghurt Bar in Kensington! I got some plain & chocolate froyo with fresh mango and blueberries – a brilliant combo! We enjoyed a leisurely stroll in the massive flagship store, before settling hot and cold delights from their infamous deli bar. Laura is so lovely in person and it felt like we had known eachother forever! It was such a privilege to meet one of the pioneers that inspired me to start blogging in the first place!


photo (4)


photo (8)

20130321-211937.jpg

So thats where I am at the moment! It has been such a joy to blog with you all this last year, and I know that this year coming up GoodPhat is going to just get bigger and better! I have some cool ideas in mind you keep your eyes and satsumas peeled 😉 Follow me on instagram and twitter for live updates on my weightloss journey to goal with healthy food and fitness fun!

How do you plan for success? What are you doing to keep fit and healthy at the moment?

What  have you enjoyed about Goodphat this last year?

What would you like to see on Goodphat in the year to come?

3 thoughts on “Clean living is not a chore, it is a gift! (my 1st birthday blog)

  1. MissDotty says:

    Firstly happy blog birthday! Secondly it is so lovely to read your updates, I need to read things like this to give me the kick in the bottom I need to get myself sorted health wise.

Leave a Reply

