A matter of Life or Death

20130421-090113.jpg

My post today is tinged with sadness as I received some terrible news that a friend of mine committed suicide. she was a lovely girl always smiling laughing and although I didn’t know her well she was my dearest friends confidant – they did everything together and now my dear friend is just utterly broken.

Although I work in mental health and deal with the realities of suicide everyday it doesn’t make it any easier. The incident, with the Boston bombings has left many feeling perplexed and asking those bigger life questions.

I could spend hours hypothesising “why” in relation to the incidents of last week, and I am sure many people will… But for me two things have emerged from the disasters that have struck. Firstly it has made it even more clearer to me how important it is in helping those affected by mental health issues, as the consequences are literally earth shatteringly painful, and secondly, made me re-evaluate my life and the choices I choose to make.

I realise that I have been given a life and I have been given choices and I can choose to live. What I say may be controversial but I believe that when I was 18+ stone eating myself to an early grave I was not living – that was my way of “self harm” and I’m thankful that I found weightwatchers, this community and friends that brought me back from the edge before it was too late.

My quest to get healthy and to lose weight is my quest to live my life and to live it to the fullest. I want to run and run for Boston, for my friend and for the others we have lost along the way. I am going to keep going – I am going to get to goal and I am thankful for the life I am choosing to live.

โค

10 thoughts on “A matter of Life or Death

  1. My Fat Shadow says:

    I may not spend ‘hours’ but you have left me in thought – really glad to be one of those friends among the WW community.

  2. Swijetunge says:

    Oh posh. As a fellow mental health worker I agree with you soo much, you deal with these things everyday but it’s never easy, and I have thought a lot about weight and binging as a form of self harm. It is destructive and hatprming but many people don’t realise.

  3. Pauline says:

    Honey, I am so sorry for your loss, and for your friend and for how painful this must be for everyone. I agree that working in mental health doesn’t make dealing with the realities any easier, and I think that open discussion of mental health is important for overall understanding and potentially helping people who are in distress. The biggest warmest hugs for you, lovely xx

  4. Rorary says:

    Posh, I feel for you in your loss & the shock at the terrible news – your poor friend must be totally devastated. So many of us do or will suffer mental health issues, yet there is still a huge stigma which prevents people seeking help and not much helpful information around as to how to help as a non-professional. For physical medical issues we can learn first aid – but how do we, the general public, learn how to say & do the right things when faced with someone in a mental health crisis? I’ve been in that situation more than once (different people) and it’s scary. Lying awake all night wondering if a bi-polar colleague really had committed suicide because I couldn’t contact anyone was horrible. (Luckily he was interrupted part way through the overdose).

  5. themovingmuncher says:

    Am very sorry to hear that you’re having a hard time at the moment… But also inspired by both your work and your desire to lead a healthy and happy life. Hope things you and your friend are doing as ok as you could in a tragic situation like this.

Leave a Reply

