Foodie Haul – Gangnam style!

One of the best things about living in a big vibrant city such as London is the melting pot of cultures, and one of the greatest things about different cultures is the delicious cuisine!

A while back I found near my old work place the *amazing* Korea Foods superstore! My husband and I absolutely adore Asia, being South-Asian in origin and having lots of family and friends in Singapore and Malaysia we just *love* asian food! We even went to Malyasia for our honeymoon and would go again in a heartbeat!

So you can imagine my excitement finding this superstore literally on my doorstep… say hello to my megal foodie Haul – Gangnam Style!

20130507-231348.jpg

There was lots of brilliant fresh produce, and I stocked up on my pak choi and stir fry essentials such as chinese greens, chillies, ginger and garlic! I found peeled garlic cloves which is such a time saver, I’m definately getting that again soon! I also was a bit adventourous and got some fruits and veg that I wouldn’t usually buy, such as Pomelo! I also bought some longan fruit, which brought back memories of our honeymoon and travels in Thailand.

I also stocked up on cupboard items too such as soy sauce, fish sauce, rice noodles, coconut milk, wasabi and miso soup in bulk! It was so much cheaper then normal supermarkets so thought its good to stock up! I finally bought a steamer basket a traditional yet super simple way of steaming fish and vegetables! I am still yet to use it but I can’t wait to try it out!

So it was a fabulous Korean inspired haul! Watch this space for some Asian inspired recipes coming soon!

❤

20130507-231533.jpg

miso

20130507-231628.jpg

20130507-232136.jpg

3 thoughts on “Foodie Haul – Gangnam style!

  1. Philippa says:

    Oh my god! I love this part of London too, I always stock up on goodies when I find myself there. New Loon Moon is my favourite place but it looks like I’m going to have to check out this Gangnam Style supermarket too (ha ha!). The sauces (soy, sweet chilli, etc) and noodles are always so much better value than the supermarket, I agree. I also like getting the mock meats!! 🙂

  2. themovingmuncher says:

    Love the bling cat hehe! Looks like you’ve gotten yourselves a bargain! I love my steamer too (I got a similar one from a chinese supermarket) and I use it all the time, best buy yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

