The Wheel of Life

Image

I’ve taken a step back from the blogging this summer, partly due to work / life balancing acts – but also because I felt  I needed to “re-calibrate” my inner being. I’ve been going through so many changes – physically, emotionally, spiritually, that I just needed to give myself time to 1. recognise it  2. validate it and 3. enjoy it.

I don’t know about you guys – but sometimes it can feel like I’m running on some low GI low dairy low sugar low fat low mood hamster wheel… sometimes we strive for things so much we forget why we wanted them in the first place. My goal all along on and off the years has been to lose weight. i didn’t know how, or really why, just that I was f*t and thats what f*t people should do. I was doing everything that everyone else suggested would be a good idea, whether that be blogs, articles, or people around me. “You should try cutting carbs after 6pm it worked for me”, “dont eat rice – ever again”,  “why don’t you try spinning its awful horrid but you will lose weight”, “for me I decided to go vegan, you should do that”, “eat nut butters its the good fats” “dont eat nut butters its high in calories”….. *insert scream here*

 

There was a part of me, that became resentful of all the “Advice”. I remember being 17, and my “rebellion” was to not give a damn what I ate. I was sick of people telling me what I should (and shouldn’t) be doing/eating that for me, eating “chip pittas” and milkybar chunkies at school was a big “f*** you” to the world… when girls around me were trying to starve themselves, there i was stuffing my face. It felt almost empowering to not care, but at the time I never realised that i was hurting myself – and that as much as the anorexics were “ill”… so was I. 

Now this is topical, since in the last month America has announced that “Obesity” is now classified as an “illness”. I don’t want to get overly political about this on the blog – I suppose we all have our own views about weight, but there is a part of me that wonders if I would be where I was now if the morbidly obese teenager got some help; if people didn’t ignore my expanding waist line because I was an A* Student, as if thats all that matters in life.

 

Anyways, I digress, how did I get onto this again?

 

Oh yeah – taking a step back, re-evaluating my life goals. 

So in the last month or so, after finishing some wonderful health coaching with Laura I feel in a very good place. I’m in a place now that I know what works for me, I know what I want. I know what kind of food I want to eat, and what kind of “diet” I want to have. Im learning all the time – but the space has allowed me to not feel overwhelmed with all the subliminal messages out there. To not be such a health blogging “sheep”. To figure out what is best for me in my food and in my fitness…. and this independence is such a wonderful feeling! 

 

So what have I learned?

1. I feel good when my meal is wholesome, mindful and balanced – I need my carbs, i need my proteins and I need my good fats 🙂 also a salad can be a great filling meal!

2. i love variety when I work out – i love to have a week with strength training, swimming, walking and zumba – no day has to be the same! 

3. i use exercise as “me-time” indulgence. Its not selfish to care about my self/health. 

4. plan, prepare, and attack! i feel my best when I’m in control and know what I’m eating for my next meal and what my next workout is. 

5. Baby steps – I have a lot of weight to lose, but its tackling it 1 pound at a time – and giving myself non-food rewards when I do (manicures and buying fat quarters quilting fabric is now my new favourite thing)

 

The most important thing I’ve learnt – something I’ve not mentioned above, is WHY i’m doing this. Why am I trying to lose weight? Now – thats a whole other blog – but for me one of the main things is that I’m ready to match the person i FEEL i am on the inside to the person that is seen on the outside – I don’t want to be “fat at thirty” , I’m ready to start a new chapter in my wheel of life – I’m turning 30 in just under 18months! (Dec 2014 to be exact!) I’m joining Amy (@Curlsandcoffee) in her challenge to be the best me by the time I hit 30… and i *know* I can do this! 

 

Keep up to date with me as I twitter (@goodphatblog) and instagram (@goodphat) myself to goal! 

 

5 thoughts on “The Wheel of Life

  1. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout says:

    Fab blog Grace! I think you are a million times spot on with it being a personal journey as opposed to a set of rules that we all must abide by – as something that could work for one person could be an absolute disaster for another. It’s also bloody confusing for most who haven’t found what works for them, to see so much ‘advice’ everywhere, a lot of which is conflicting!

    So super excited that you found the health coaching really helpful and that you’ve been able to see and feel what works for you. Becoming the best you before 30 sounds like a wonderful project and goal to have, sounds like you are on the right path already:)!

  2. PoPpy @ Persistence Over Perfection says:

    Ahh I’m so excited to read this Grace – the health coaching has obviously had a super good effect! Good for you – and you are so correct that this is a personal journey. You must do and eat what is right for YOU. We are all unique, and there is no such thing as one size fits all. I will be thirty in a couple of years…please can I join you?xx

  3. Amy @curlscoffee says:

    It is so easy to lose sight of the why and to become blinded by the daily grind of dieting. I think we are both on a journey to learn about ourselves, our bodies and make long-term, forever and ever Amen, changes. Very exciting as well as consuming and slightly terrifiying!! Can’t wait to watch us both lose our 60lbs and turn 30 looking like better versions of ourselves xx

  4. Sonja says:

    great blog, Grace! You have been taking health coaching sessions with Laura? That must have been amazing, she is such an inspiration. I wouldn’t mind reading more about that.
    I guess that when you can implement all the things you are writing about here you ALREADY ARE a better version of yourself, regardless of weight. XX

  5. Laura Agar Wilson (@lauraagarwilson) says:

    Hi lovely, great, great post. Thank you so much for your kind words about working with me 🙂 I know you are in a place now where you can start and make the changes you need and want to make for you – starting to manifest the future you want for yourself and your health. Can you remember the wheel of life handout I sent you? I’m not sure if you got the chance to look at it, but it could be helpful for you on your journey to feeling great at thirty!

Leave a Reply

