Independence is sweet

IMG_2219

Hi guys
well its been a truly lovely week – a week ago today I got the results I had been waiting for, for what seemed like eternity. I’m finally free of the burden of exams and it feels wonderful. My mind is still a bit of a jumble because it’s been so long since I’ve just had kinda nothin to do but I’m not complaining! While I tried to figure it out I found out my favourite cocktail is the lychee martini!

9

One of the best things for me this week was starting up with the Rookie Runners Group on Sunday. I was so nervous about it – and really I think theres a lesson to be learnt here about perfectionism (more on that a bit later). I know it doesn’t apply to everyone as many of you are semi-pro marathonistas, but for those that are like me starting out or even just vaguely interested in my thoughts I’m keeping a over on my little blog called goodsweat. It was such a beautiful morning and I can really imagine myself enjoying going out for morning “me time” runs in the future. Plus, if I get through this group I will be able to cross off “run 5k” on my bucket 30 before 30 list!

So what else has been going on? Well I’ve been loving spending time with family and friends, and because there has been so much chatting I’ve hardly taken any pics! doh! I went to a lovely healthy Indian restaurant with Holly, and a delicious hidden Argentinian restaurant with my dear cousin, my favourite sushi haunt with my other half – and tonight my study buddy (and great friend) are celebrating our success at a lovely Spanish tapas place! I’m getting dolled up doing my hair and make up so really looking forward to it!

8

I have also been spending some time experimenting again in the kitchen. I actually started doing this the week before my exam (I was getting seriously bored of revision and cooking is always a welcome distraction!) We have started to make more of an effort to introduce fish into our weekly meal planning. Its so good for you, and, with a bit of savvy shopping its not too much more pricey then a regular week shop (especially if you slowly wean off the red meats as we are doing). I got a beautiful sea bass from the fish counter and simply grilled it and had with some new potatoes, lemon and parley – was delicious!

2 (1)

My celebrations haven’t been all food related, i swear!!!, I got myself a lovely gel manicure last week week as soon as I got my results – i found a wonderful place just down the road to me and I can say Im officially hooked. No more the grubby chipped nails girl!

4

5

I’ve also ventured into London and went to the Mecca that is the Oxford street topshop and treated myself to this cute little trinket initials necklace, which in fact I prefer wearing as a dainty wrap around bracelet

7

And finally I’ve been doing a lot of chilling! getting back to reading, finding great new music, catching up my favourite shows (currently the Great British Bake Off and the american comedy sitcom “the exes” !)

I know in the back of my mind I need to get settled into some sort of routine but right now i’m having a bit too much fun! i have a few things that I want to work on and its slowly coming together – like meal planning and exercise planning. I’m trying to take things one day at a time, and think to myself “how am I going to be active today ? what shall I have healthy today?” sounds a bit pedantic, but at the moment its just taking one step at a time and getting into my routines (like tuesday nights are zumba and sundays is the running group). At the moment i’m managing to exercise about 3-4 times a week and i’m feeling good for it!!!

Something I have noticed is this need for perfectionism that has just sort of come into my awareness. I realised this when I was in zumba and I was wanting to be “really really good” and sort of frowning through a whole song. I caught myself in the mirror, and turned that frown upside down (ha!). I reminded myself that it is about PROGRESS not PERFECTION and I can honestly say that i’ve made significant progress since even a month ago. Last night I was at the front of the class instead of hiding at the back. I was able to keep up with all the fast routines and I even managed to actually get a salsa triplet move that i have been struggling with for 2 weeks because I thought I had 2 left feet! it just goes to show that you CAN improve if you stay committed and attend regularly. I’m slowly letting go of that perfectionist trait, because although it has helped me get far in life and in my ambitions, it can also hold me back – The old me would have given up because I wasn’t good enough – but now I’m taking to heart what an old mentor of mine once told me that sometimes things don’t have to be perfect – they just have to be good enough.

Finally I have to leave you with this beautiful haunting cover by one of my favourite artists Susheela Raman – waiting in vain – so bellissimo

2 thoughts on “Independence is sweet

  1. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout says:

    The nails look fab lady!!! Also loved reading your post about your first running session, way to with your determination, and am so glad that it is a lovely bunch of ladies supporting each other ๐Ÿ™‚ Mm I love grilled fish – so simple but so very very relish! If you like a good lychee martini there’s a place in covent g called dirty martini (bar is ok, but martinis are yummy!) which do half price martinis in the evenings and all day on a sunday (just realised I’ve mentioned martinis about agazillion times in this post, can you tell that I’m a fan ๐Ÿ˜‰ ? ) x

Leave a Reply

