I {heart} November (& hiphop Macaroons!)

Hey everyone
happy first of November! how time is flying, I totally had to pinch myself today when I saw the Toys’R’Us Christmas Advert on TV – in my mind I’m still feeling Summer will be back next week (!)

I know its been a long time since I last posted, the truth is I have been practising the art of “being” and less “doing” if that makes any sense – I have been enjoying settling into a routine of working hard and then using my spare time to eat well, exercise and declutter our apartment (which is a full time job in itself!!)

However in all the post exam glow we were clawing at the walls for a Holiday as we had not been abroad since our Kerala Trip last Christmas! We dusted off our passports and booked a very lovely last minute holiday to Malta! A beautiful island with gorgeous weather (non stop sunshine 25 degrees!) we spend most of our time sunning ourselves on the roof top pool, relaxing in the spa, and eating our own body weight in pasta overlooking the bay! My favourite meal was the fresh Lobster Linguine, Oh My !!!

photo 2 (2)

We were only away for 5 days but it was just what we needed! The hotel we stayed in (Le Meridien) boasted the islands best Spa, and so I just had to oblige and try 😛 I went for a lovely ayruvedic massage, sea salt body scrub and facial – it was absolute heaven and I have to say probably once of the best facials I have ever had!

photo 1 (1)

I have been making a real effort in the last month or so to really focus on eating healthy, and I’m so proud to announce that since my exams I’ve been losing weight slowly but steadily every single week with 7lbs so far gone! I’ve been doing it by trying to be more mindful of what i eat, keeping a track of what I eat, and just trying to make smarter choices! After over a year of Gaining weight/STS (staying the same) in a real weight loss rut this has been a wonderful change of scenery for my weight loss journey!

Its amazing when you put your mind to it and get into the “headspace” of healthy eating what you can find, I have been delighted that the high street is catering more and more for clean eating – there really isn’t any excuse! i don’t know if there has been a cultural shift in the last 5 years, more awareness, or just because I have changed, but I don’t ever remember eating out being so accomodating. Lots of restaurants now have their NVs (nutritional values) online which is so handy, and chains are including more clean dishes – for example Nandos with their “Avacado and Green Bean Salad with Chicken” pictured below, it was amazing !!

photo 2 (3)

I’ve also been loving the salad at Muriels Kitchen, the original store is in Kensington but recently they opened in the heart of Leicester Square. If you can resist the temptation of the Haagen Daaz Cafe then check this place out for their delicious fresh, clean salads (big take out boxes for a very reasonable £4 each!)

photo 1 (2)

I have also been spending more time experimenting in the kitchen. I feel i have learned alot in the last few years from following so many health foodie blogs that cooking healthy from scratch is second nature now. I’m loving making my batch soups for the week to take into work, and the wonders of a Sweet Potato! 3 years ago a “healthy soup” to me was just a Heinz tin or covent garden carton!

Here is a delicious Spicy Moroccan Lamb Shank stew with grilled veg and cous cous that i made yesterday – I had so much “Stew” left over that I turned it into the most fabulous moroccan inspired chickepea soup which I’m going to devour over the weekend 🙂

photo 2 (1)

Finally with all my experimenting I’ve stumbled upon a wonderful tasty healthy snack that even I, with bake-o-phobia (fear of baking) can make!

My hip hop inspired “So Fresh and So Clean” Coconut “Macaroons”
and
Superfood Big Pimpin’ Macaroons 2.0 !

photo 1 (3)

So for the So fresh and So clean Coconut Macaroons (the lighter coloured 3 balls in the top right) All you need is Ground almonds, dessicated coconut flakes, tiny splash of vanilla essence and a good squeeze of honey / agave nectar. Balance the ingrediants for your own taste (I used equal quantities of almond and coconut, and prob a bit too much vanilla and agave!) and mix bring together in a bowl and then shape into golf sized balls and put in a cold fridge et voila!

For my “Superfood pimped up Macaroons 2.0” its the same concept but I have added maca powder and chia seeds to the ground almonds and coconut, with a splash of almond milk to help it bind. Squeeze a bit of agave /vanilla extract to taste and again mix together and shape into golf balls and put into a cold fridge!

These were so great keeping me going during my night shifts this week, really simple, clean, healthy yet so delicious!!!

I am so excited about November! it is officially my favourite time of the year and I’m motivated to continue to stay healthy and get fit for my 29th birthday on Xmas Eve!

-x-

3 thoughts on “I {heart} November (& hiphop Macaroons!)

  1. Laura Agar Wilson (@lauraagarwilson) says:

    Lovely to get an update from you Grace! You look stunning in that photo and I’m so glad that you have seen some weight loss progress. I think you are so right about being in the right headspace for it all. I do think there has been a big shift, even in the 3 3/4 years I’ve been blogging, I think so much has changed out there. Great for us healthy eaters!

  2. sonja@vesenmork says:

    you really look gorgeous in that selfie and it sounds like it’s been an amazing holiday. I’ve been reading this blog for more than a year now and although you shared your struggles you have always tempted to stay positive. But often it read as if you needed not to convince your readers of that positivity but yourself, if you know what I mean (I do that too sometimes) Now for perhaps the first time I really feel like you’re there. Congrats on an amazing october, and here’s to an even greater november 🙂

    1. poshpiggy says:

      aww sonja your comments are so lovely , thank you! i know what you mean and I do think that since i’ve been able to focus solely on this journey in the last 2months things have got infinitely better. not perfect – but better none the less! love that our blogs have brought us together and we can support each other through this medium xxx

Leave a Reply

