Focus on 2014

DSC_0118

Happy New Year to my lovely readers and friends here in the blogosphere. I cannot quite believe that a new year is upon us – 2014 – I had written a draft going through all the ups and downs of last year but I decided to scrap that, as now one of my new year resolutions is to be more in the present and if anything think forward about our future, rather then mindlessly dwell on the past.

I’m not huge on making resolutions, but this year I’ve decided to pin my dreams, hopes and aspirations for the year ahead on one particular word that I can apply to all areas of my life. Last year I found myself coming back to the word “balance” a lot which I found very helpful as like a toddler finding their feet I learned to balance worklife, home life, exam life, health, exercise and my roles as a wife, daughter, sister, friend and full time career woman.

This year I want to meditate on being FOCUSED

focus on health and wellness
focus on my marriage and relationships
focus on faith and spirituality
focus on peace and happiness
focus on making goodphat a homely, creative space
focus on living in the now!

I feel every year i have made progress in learning more and more about myself when it comes to my diet and exercise. It really has been a journey – I have come from a place that was too shy and embarrassed to walk into a gym to now feeling it a place of sanctuary and a second home! I once lived on takeaways and processed foods, and now I eat clean whole foods (and i know what a green smoothie is, lol!)

This year now with relatively few distractions (membership exams;check, job;check, settled into new area; check) I’m ready to FOCUS 100% on making my health dreams into a reality. I’m hoping to shift some serious pounds this year and get out of the “size 16-ish” rut I’ve fallen into- I’m focussing on following weightwatchers(I find it helps me stay accountable and my portions in control) but with this my eating is “clean” and whole foods as much as possible with a “low GI” ethos. Sounds a bit crazy but I think this works for me, and instead of trying a new fad every other month I’m going to focus on this. I need to lose well over 50lb to get to my ultimate weight goal but this year i’m feeling very positive that I can get there slowly and surely. I have to remind myself that There is no race, and this is not a competition and there is no gold star or medal at the end. i don’t want to focus too much on the numbers, because I know if I eat well and exercise regularly I will start to see the results I wish for.

Of course exercise plays a huge role too! I’ve found my stride mixing up HIIT and strength training sessions with zumba, swimming and yoga. I just LOVE this weekly combination! I am going to keep up my jogging but the weather is so horrendous i’m slightly scared lol! I am focusing on getting into a manageable routine mixing up solo sessions with classes aiming to get to the gym 4-5 times a week. Today on New Years day I spent the morning at a lovely yoga class followed by a leisurely swim it was fantastic!

I wish you all a wonderful year ahead full of fond memories and magical moments

What are your goals for 2014? is there a word that you feel encapsulates what you hope for the new year?

-x-

ps. this picture was taken in Goa, India November 2011 – possibly the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen

3 thoughts on “Focus on 2014

  1. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout says:

    Great post Grace, and focussing on the present is definitely a big plus in my book šŸ™‚ You’re right, slowly but surely wins the race no matter how long it takes to get there! Happy new year and see you soon lady! x PS Goa looks like bliss – would love to do a yoga retreat at some point there!

Leave a Reply

